All I Have Are Glory Days

While doing #RPGaDay2019 I came to a realization: when talking about games, all my examples are in the past. I’m constantly raving about my Burning Wheel game, The Ballad of Hal Whitewyrm, but that game ended seven years ago. I recently tweeted a pic of the group that played Primetime Adventures: Star Wars Episode LV, without a doubt one of the most memorable games ever, and was dumbfounded that it has been 11 years since that Gen Con. And even when talking about the last game I played, it was a five-year-old Iron Edda game at Origins 2014. It is painfully obvious that when it comes to gaming, all I have are glory days.

This shouldn’t be a surprise; I mean, I have spent the last eight years or so disconnected from gaming to some extent or other. But I won’t lie, it was a bit of a blow to realize this. I remember when I was younger and I gamed all the time, thinking, what would life be like without my games? Well, now I know, and life was good, don’t get me wrong, but I did miss the games.

The silver lining, of course, is that now I’m working to get back into gaming regularly using all the tools and tricks at my disposal, so there will be new games to talk and rave about very soon.

Leave a comment